The winds of change

How do you know when it’s time for a change? The old saying goes “change is as good as a holiday”, but as someone who’s just come off the back of a four month holiday I beg to differ. Don’t get me wrong, change can be good, but when do you know it’s right?

Growing up in a small town, not much changes, and if it does, everybody knows about it. The local gossip is always the same, someones getting married, someone bought a house. Every now and then a new set of traffic lights will pop up, or the local pub will have a new special on the menu, and that was pretty exciting, but all in all, not much changes.

Change is evolution, we were once monkeys and now we’re humans. So maybe it is natural to evolve into a new version of yourself which provokes the desire for change. Moving to the Gold Coast never felt like a big change for me, but for my family and friends around me, it seemed a lot bigger. Perhaps just because I was ready to change without them, didn’t mean they were ready to change without me.

In Friends, Chandler tells Rachel to quit her job because she “needs the fear” to seek a better one, this is kind of true, we are a society driven by fear, but does fear bring with it the right kind of change?  I don’t think I was afraid of what I would become if I stayed, and I don’t think I needed the fear of the unknown to make the change. I was driven by the lure of potential, I was excited by the prospect of what I could become if I did leave. I wanted the challenge, so I stepped out of comfort zone, and started shaping my future.

Leave a Reply

